Scottish Country Dancing is very popular not only in Scotland but all over the world. Most dances are done by four couples in one longwise set. There are three kinds of dances: energetic reels and jigs and slower strathspeys. Individual dances consist of a combination of different figures danced using three steps, skip change, slip step and pas de basque in quick time, and two steps, travelling step and setting, for strathspeys.

The Munich Scottish Association was founded in 1973 by a group of Scots and friends of Scotland to further Scottish culture in Munich and the surrounding area. Our emphasis is primarily on Scottish country dancing at weekly dance classes. Participants of all ages are welcome to join our weekly class, with or without a partner: it goes without saying that you don’t have to be Scottish!

Other events run by our association include the traditional Burns Supper, ceilidhs and social evenings and social dances or balls. Our events and classes are mostly accompanied by live music, and we occasionally run courses for musicians interested in playing for dancing. Our close ties to other Scottish country dance groups in Europe and elsewhere, also via the umbrella organization in Scotland, the Royal Scottish Country Dance Society, result in exchange visits to dance courses and balls.

Bob Ross

Bob Ross

We were very pleased in 2011 to welcome Bob Ross as the Honorary President of the Munich Scottish Association.

Bob Ross was born in Kirkcaldy Scotland. He plays the horn in the Munich Philharmonic, and is a conductor, entertainer, moderator and founder of the brass band “Blechschaden”. Bob played in brass bands while still at school and went on to study the horn, conducting and composing at the Royal College of Music in Glasgow. He played the horn in the Hessisches Staatstheater Wiesbaden and the Philharmonisches Orchester Essen before joining the Münchner Philharmoniker in 1979 under Sergiu Celibidache. In 1985 he founded the brass band Blechschaden, which consisted largely of his colleagues from the Philharmonic. The band, which plays everything from Baroque to rock music, now gives around 50 performances a year, has won two Echo Klassik awards for its CDs and in 2009 the München Leuchtet award from the city of Munich and the Kulturpreis Bayern. Bob is known to many as the presenter of a TV series on the history of music: “Musikgeschichte(n) mit Bob Ross – Von der Knochenflöte bis zur Rockmusik”.

„Scottish Country Dancing” ist nicht nur in Schottland, sondern mittlerweile auf der ganzen Welt bekannt und beliebt. Die meisten Tänze werden von 4 Paaren in einer sogenannten „Gassenaufstellung” getanzt. Es gibt die flotten Reels und Jigs und die langsamen Strathspeys.

Eine Gruppe von Schotten und Freunden Schottlands gründete 1973 die Munich Scottish Association, um Schottland und schottische Kultur in München und Umgebung populär zu machen. Wir treffen uns wöchentlich, um schottische Tänze zu tanzen. Interessierte sind bei unseren Tanzabenden herzlich willkommen. Ob Studentin oder „älteres Semester” – wir sind eine ganz gemischte Gruppe, in der jedes Alter und Geschlecht vertreten ist. Mitmachen kann man mit oder ohne Partner.

Des Weiteren organisieren wir regelmäßig das traditionelle „Burns Supper” sowie Tanzabende und Bälle. Der Unterricht und die Tanzveranstaltungen werden hauptsächlich von Live-Musik begleitet und von Zeit zu Zeit bieten wir Musikerkurse für schottische Tanzmusik. Durch enge Beziehungen mit anderen „Scottish Country Dancing”-Vereinen und insbesondere mit dem Dachverband RSCDS (Royal Scottish Country Dance Society) fördern wir Kontakt und Austausch mit anderen Tanzbegeisterten auf der ganzen Welt.

Seit 2016 sind wir ein eingetragener Verein. Hier findet ihr unsere Satzung.

Committee

Committee 2016/17

Unser Committee setzt sich in der Saison 2016/17 zusammen aus:
Chair: Ramona Zohm
Deputy Chair: Sue Bollans
Secretary: Dieter Kohl
Treasurer: Matthias Rank
Die weiteren Committee-Mitglieder: Judith Bartels, Aileen Melsbach, Manuel Melsbach, Rita Reil, Friederike Joens

Bob Ross

Bob Ross

Eine große Freude ist es für uns, Bob Ross als Ehrenpräsidenten der Munich Scottish Association gewonnen zu haben.

Bob Ross wurde in Kirkcaldy, Schottland, geboren. Er ist Hornist bei den Münchner Philharmonikern, Dirigent, Unterhalter, Moderator und Gründer des Blechblas-Ensembles “Blechschaden”. Erste musikalische Erfahrungen sammelte der junge Bob Ross in seiner Heimatstadt als Mitglied verschiedener Blaskapellen, bevor er sein Musikstudium (Horn, Dirigieren und Komposition) am Royal College of Music in Glasgow aufnahm. Er spielte Horn am Hessischen Staatstheater Wiesbaden und beim Philharmonischen Orchester Essen und landete schließlich 1979 bei den Münchner Philharmonikern unter Sergiu Celibidache. 1985 rief er das Ensemble Blechschaden ins Leben. Unter seinen Musikerkollegen fand er elf Gleichgesinnte, die sich für Blechblasmusik interessierten. Bei Konzerten von Blechschaden wird alles von Barock bis Rock gespielt. Das Ensemble hat etwa 50 Auftritte pro Jahr, hat zweimal den “Echo Klassik” für seine CDs gewonnen, und 2009 die Auszeichnung “München Leuchtet” der Stadt München und den Kulturpreis Bayern. Vielen Fernsehzuschauern ist Bob bekannt aus seiner Sendung “Musikgeschichte(n) mit Bob Ross – Von der Knochenflöte bis zur Rockmusik”.